LBBA Receives First Place and Third Place Driehaus Awards for Excellence in Community Design

cnda-3Last week, the 20th Annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards (CNDA) recognized local developers, non-profits, and architects who have worked to improve communities through outstanding architectural contributions to Chicago neighborhoods. Awarding the best of the year’s neighborhood-focused developments, CNDA is a time to celebrate as well as reflect on the changing needs of our neighborhoods and how they are being met by the city’s robust community of neighborhood developers and organizations. Landon Bone Baker Architects was honored to receive both the First Place (Harvest Commons Apartments) and Third Place (The Jackson at Woodlawn Park) Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence in Community Design.

Harvest Commons Apartments
1st Place Driehaus Award for Architectural Excellence in Community Design

Client: Heartland Housing, First Baptist Congregational Church

Team: Linn-Mathes, Inc.; McKay Landscape Architects; AP Engineering Services; Prism Engineering; dbHMS; GFGR, Inc.; McGuire Igleski & Associates; GreenWorks Studio; Heartland Human Care Services; Jennifer Murtoff; archi-treasures


The Jackson at Woodlawn Park
3rd Place Driehaus Award for Architectural Excellence in Community Design

Client: Preservation of Affordable Housing

Team: Linn-Mathes, Inc.; Conservation Design Forum; Prism Engineering; Matrix Engineering Corp; RTM & Associates; Kouba-Cavallo Associates, Inc.

cnda-9cnda-11cnda-10We are also very proud to have been involved in The Resurrection Project’s Back of the Yards Neighborhood Stabilization Initiative, winner of the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Outstanding Non-Profit Neighborhood Real Estate Project, and Voice of the People of Uptown and the Chicago Community Development Corporation’s Hazel Winthrop Apartments, winner of the Polk Bros. Foundation Affordable Rental Housing Preservation Award.

Photo credits- Harvest Commons 1: Wayne Cable Photos; Harvest Commons 2: Shane Welch Photography; Harvest Commons 3: Wayne Cable Photos; The Jackson 1: Mathias Heyden and Ines Schaber, Where If Not Us? Participatory Design and Its Radical Approaches; The Jackson 2: Ballogg Photography; The Jackson 3: Jerry Luterman.